Searching for the holy grail: The Perfect Studio

Does this lonely piece of track look less fun because it’s not a full set? It’s so easy to fall into the trap of studo envy, and the internet allows to see even more sweet set-ups than we normally would. You know that feeling, right? I sometimes say to myself things like “If I only had that nice lyre frame easel, I could start painting again.” or “If only I had a stand mixer, I could bake all these other things!” or “If I lived in Astoria, Oregon I could totally be a Goonie.” Nothing about where I live or what I have in my studio or kitchen are actually stopping me from doing these things. They just wouldn’t be quite…perfect.

I’m not a musician, but I was watching the TV show parenthood a couple of weeks ago, and I saw this recording studio. I saw this big, old building with spacious rooms and peeling paint and thought to myself  “I want to do my work there.” I think that there’s something about the idea of having someplace special to work. The idea of it just speaks to me the way a corner of the living room, or the dining room table or my basement studio just don’t. Those spaces don’t have the romance that we’ve been sold on looking for.

So, what does the perfect studio space look like? It could be a full space of its own. I saw this space on pinterest tonight, and it was like someone had plucked it out of my head, made it and photographed it just to taunt me.  Maybe it’s just the photo, but it feels like it’s inviting me in to sit down in that chair and get to work. If I need to draw something I can just roll down to the drawing table. If I need to build a model or cut some paper or set up some reference, I just have to turn around. It has all of those elements of magic in a new space that you could want…and an awesome, out-of-the-way storage area for books.

Another studio from Pinterest. I love the storage cubbies and again, can picture myself working at that counter, under those shelves. In the picture in my head, that would be magical. It would be magical. Everything I was trying to figure out would finally fall into place. I’d succeeded in my quest. Found the holy grail. Wouldn’t that be nice? It’s important to remember that these photos are just set-pieces, and tables and plastic drawers work just as well. More important than that though, is getting started on the work in spite of the reality of our space not living up to the fantasy in our head. Am I saying that we should stop looking for that perfect space? Goonies never say die.  It’s wonderful to be able to be proud of where you work when you show people new projects…of course, I think sometimes we just wish our workspace was clean.

“It starts with this: put your desk in the corner, and every time you sit down there to write, remind yourself why it isn’t in the middle of the room. Life isn’t a support system for art. It’s the other way around.”
― Stephen King, On Writing

What do you wish your workspace or studio looked like? What are you missing?  We’d love to hear from you! Leave us a comment or studio link!

Photo credits:

And for the record, that little piece of car track sees a lot of action in my house. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Searching for the holy grail: The Perfect Studio

  1. Kate says:

    so my studio was once a kitchen,(our house was split into two apartments for all the soldiers coming back from WW 2) than it became my youngest daughter bedroom now it’s MINE all MINE! Bought my first piece of furniture for it a 50 cent chair! Every night I envision something different!

    • redherringjeff says:

      That’s awesome! I definitely don’t miss the days when I had to pick up EVERYTHING I was working on at the end of the evening. It was so hard getting it all back out again! Ha-ha-ha! Thanks for sharing, Kate!

Leave a Reply

