Studio Spaces and Places

Last week, I talked about looking for that perfect studio. The place where all you’re dreams come true. Looking at all these great studio spaces got me thinking about what a studio is, and how it has to meet the needs of each individual artist. So, I asked some of the other Fusion artists to share their studio spaces with us! I freely admit to having no knowledge of what it would take to set up a studio for casting, glass or beads.  Something I was surprised to find though, was just how similar all our needs are. Besides room to spread out a little and get some work done, storage seems to be king. Storage for finished work as well as for tools and materials.

Melissa of Villa Design creates jewelry pieces include lampwork glass, metal work, founds objects and vintage components. She is constantly inspired by the graphic elements in nature and patterns in everyday objects.  She told me that she  didn’t clean up for these photos… which I laughed about until she admitted that this is just a small corner of her studio. Melissa spends the majority of her time here in her glass studio to make glass beads. She sits at the torch with a wall of glass rods in easy reach to her left. She also has enamels and frits scattered  everywhere. The red tool box is her chili pepper kiln. Don’t worry, I had to google “frits” too.

Judy creates Hypertufa planters, flower pots and garden Fairy cottages. Follow the link to learn about Hypertufa. It sounds so cool, and I can’t wait for spring to come so that I can start planning out how to use some or her planters in my landscape. She also embellishes gourds and casts huge leaves out of concrete to use as bird baths, bird feeders or as decorative accents for the garden. Her studio, The Pebbled Garden,  is a studio that I can totally wrap my head around, because it looks a lot like my space when I make models and doll houses filled with hammers, saws, paints, epoxy and mold-making materials.  Really cool stuff there.

Fred is another of our glass workers, and this is his basement studio, Fire Under Glass. Fred began making beads at Glasshopper Studio three years ago, and got hooked on the flaming torch and molten glass. I love how he made sure to have the torch turned on in the photo, so we could see how cool it  looks over the work area! Fred moved on from the basic beads, to off mandrel pendants and then to marbles. His marbles are solid glass and most take about an hour and a half to create using a dual fuel torch and glass rods from Bullseye Glass.

I really love seeing how different people within the same discipline set up their work areas, and I admit that I’m curious as to whether Fred’s work area is really that cluttered, or if he set it up to show all his different tools. It’s hard to imagine anything getting done… and then I look around my studio.

Actually, there’s just a lot of clutter in my studio, because its… well… a basement. My wife Amy and I are Handmade Family. We do a little bit of everything from illustration and painting to printmaking, to fabric arts, embroidery and costumes to wood working. As our family has grown, and is beginning to grow up, we want to share those joys with other families through the things we make and our joy in making them. Sharing a studio, means that we have to work together to accommodate both of our needs. Fortunately, we have a lot of space to do that in. Our respective work areas are more or less separated by an 8-foot work table that we use to cut and assemble things on.

What does your studio space look like? Does your crafting require any special equipment or fixtures? Let us know in the comments!  We’d love to hear from you!

Links:

Leave a Reply

