Sometimes, blogging is like having a conversation with yourself. It’s part letter to friends, part conversation, and part “dear diary”. What got me thinking about this is what I said last week about remembering who my audience is, and staying on track talking about indie-crafts and the crafting community. Not…Whatever else comes into my head. I have a lot of ideas for things to write about, but right around last Tuesday I had a sort of blogging panic attack. What if the content I’m offering here isn’t what people are looking for? What can I do differently? Should I do any thing differently? Do people want DIY tutorials for how to make macrame seat covers? Seriously…Freaking. Out. So I did what any sensible person would do, went for a walk, made a cup of tea, and took a look at the list of blogs that I follow.  Guess how many of them regularly feature tutorials. One. So what does this tell me about content in blogland?

Doogie Howser, proto-blogger

If Doogie Howser were set in the 2010s, instead of the 1990s I bet he’d be writing a blog, instead of “Dear Diary” on his word processor. What kept us coming back week after week had little to do with us wanting to be a doctor. What made it compelling was that it was about how similar this kid was to us. He still fell in love, and had friends, and got in trouble. We were interested in his life and lifestyle. Tutorial posts are great for pinning on pinterest, and used sparingly they can be informative, and provide some insights into the working methods of varied creators. It’s these stories that keep us coming back for more, right? It’s hard to develop a relationship with people with just a collection of tutorials.  Doogie Howser would be a boring show if it just showed how the kid doctor inserted an IV, or made a small incision on the anterior wall of the aortal chamber. Whew!

I mentioned that I have plans for future posts, and maybe now’s the time to share some of them with you. First I’m working on a list of questions so that we can get to know the working artists at Fusion. Maybe that way we won’t all be confused when somebody mentions a Frit, or Hypertufa.  Ha-ha-ha! I’d like to talk about influences and inspiration, and am collecting some really cool pictures for that. I also have a plan for a series of posts inspired by the movie (and book) “Julie and Julia” and my friend Annie Schap’s blog Sticky Kisses. “Julie and Julia” is about a woman named Julie who decides to make every recipe in Julia Childs’ cook book in a year, and blog about it. Annie wrote a post recently about crafting blogs and how they always make everything seem so…perfect. Like their homes and lives are always tidy and cute.  Ha-ha-ha! I know mine isn’t. So using Pinterest as my guide, I’ll be tackling some craft projects, and trying out some new things.  Hopefully some of them come out good, and hopefully my failures are hilarious.  What are some things that you’d like to see here? Do you have any burning questions for a stay-at-home dad, crafter, and blogger? Leave us a comment and let us know!

I know that I said last week that I shouldn’t talk about Star Wars all the time, because this isn’t a blog about starwars, it’s about crafting and the crafting community.  I’m going to make an exception today though.  A couple of days ago, Illustrator Ralph McQuarrie died. While Mr. Lucas’ name may be synonymous with Star Wars, Ralph was the original illustrator that brought all those visions that changed our lives to…well…life. There’s a nice slideshow of Ralph’s work on the official Star Wars website, starwars.com.

Links:

Leave a Reply

