17 Questions (Because 17 is Better than 10) with Dana Diaz de Leon of Dana’s Creations

We have a great bunch of artists working and showing here at Fusion, and it’s really exciting for me to be able to share them with you all!  There’s always things we wish we could ask artists when we are looking at their work, but often they are not around to ask.  One of the things I find difficult when I meet artists at our Open Houses or at shows is finding that first question to get a dialogue going. As I’ve gotten to know my artist friends though, the questions just sort of build on themselves.  So, with the help of our friend Jessi at I Am What I Am on Main Street (who I’ve shamelessly stolen a lot of these questions from), and friends from the crafting community, I’ve compiled this list of questions to get the ball rolling.

Our first featured artist is Dana Diaz De Leon who has been with Fusion since 2009. We posed 17 questions to her about her work, life and thoughts on being a part of the handmade community.

What do you create?
I create bold and energizing paintings of  things I am passionate about, such as music, nature, food and life. I also make large paper flowers, a face painter, live artist, illustrator, graphic artist and muralist.

What is your bestseller?
My art prints and murals.

If you had to describe your artistic style in three words, what would they be?
“Impressionistic, Energizing, Bold”

What goes into making your creations?
“My heart, thought, time, research, preliminary drawings, color plan, design, and an array of painting materials.”

How long does it take to make your product?
“One day to 3 weeks depending on the size and detail.”

Are there any materials that you have used in your products that you think may be unexpected?
“I use old textile woodblocks from india in some of the background layers.”

Why are you an artist?
“I am an artist because I love bringing my passion, ideas and emotions into a visual reminder and reality now and forever.”

What do you think differentiates crafting from other types of business?
“Out of the ordinary items”

What do you enjoy most about selling your handmade goods?
“Knowing that someone appreciates and likes my work.  Plus I have money to buy more supplies, Yeah!”
What personality Trait do you possess that you think helps you the most as a professional crafter?
“I’m passionately driven.”

Do you take custom orders?
Yes yes yes!!!!

Who are you outside of the business?
“A mom of 5, wife, American Idol & So You Think You Can Dance junky, Christian, Bunko activist, shower singing, radio/music blaring, booty shaking , bit crazy, Happy ARTiholic.”

Do you buy handmade, and why?
“Yes. Because I like things unique and artistic.”

Do you have any short-term goals?
“Yes I am learning Adobe Illustrator 5 and photography.”

Where do you hope to be in 5 years? 10?
“In more art galleries all over. I hope to be doing licensing with my work.”

Where can we find you to see more of your work, ask questions, and give you our money?
   “Art Trends Gallery in Chesterfield, I Am What I Am in St. Charles, St Louis Girl Scout Shop (100 year G.S. Poster), Cafe’ Cioccolato in St. Louis, E.L. Riley in Kirkwood.  For any current  galleries or local businesses shows featuring my artwork check my Blog,  http://danascreationsblog.blogspot.com/  , or my website http://www.DanasCreations.com/

Who shot first, Han or Greedo?
Greedo…but he missed so Han shoots and kills. May the force be with you!

Thanks Dana for taking the time to talk with today about your work! I love hearing passionate people talk about what they are passionate about?  How about you, dear readers? Is there any thing that you’re just dying to know about Dana and her paintings? Leave us a comment!  We’d love to hear what you have to say!

Links:

Leave a Reply

