Getting The Work Done

This week, I’ve finally managed to make some headway on long standing projects, and had a minute to think about writing a blog post. So June is almost over, and for a lot of us that means two things: 1) The summer show season is coming into full swing so we’re super busy making product and hitting the fairs like a bunch of gypsies, and 2) Christmas is only 6 months away and we’re freaking out about not having enough inventory. How will we get it all done? Will there be new product, or will we go to the end of the year with the same product line. I have a couple of mantras to get me through these times, and now I’m sharing them with you. You’re welcome. 🙂

Saying “I’m gonna’…” always makes me cringe. What we usually mean is something more along the lines of “Wouldn’t it be nice if…” The first step in getting everything that needs to be done is listening for when you say “I’m gonna’…”, and then just doing it. If you want to do it, then it needs to be done. I’ve found that techno dance music goes a long way towards getting me moving when I’d rather be wishing for the magic craft fairy to fill up my inventory. Like Yoda meant to say, “Do or do not. There is no I’m gonna.” Punch that phrase in the face. It’s not your friend.

Yoda is Copyright Lucasfilm

“Perfection is the enemy of completion.” There comes a time in every project where you just have to finish it and move on to something else.  This one is hard, because we want what we do to be the best and maybe it just doesn’t fit the picture in out head, or we don’t have all the right things to display with it, or it’s the wrong season, or… this is what happens. It all ends up being an excuse to not move on to the next thing, and give it the time it deserves and then move on. One of the lessons that I’m slowly learning is that perfection can’t be seen in one thing or moment. Usually the last thing I did is as close to perfection as I ever got, and if I don’t move on to the next thing, then I won’t be able to get closer. That’s partly why Steven Spielberg went on to make Schildlers List, and a ton of other movies and George Lucas is still tinkering with Star Wars. Both of them wanted to make something new and better than they already had, not settle for a standard of perfection.

I’ve been making a list of things to work on for the next month, one of the big ones in the 11 days of Pinterest project. You can check out some of the projects I’m featuring and making on the Fusion Pinterest Board.  So what are some of your “I’m gonna’s…” for the last half of the year? Let me know in the comments, and then go out and MAKE them! Be sure to visit again so I can see what you did too. I always love seeing new, cool things, and hearing about the people who made them!

Writer Jeffrey Johnson

Stay-At-Home Dad and freelance Illustrator, comiker, crafter and urban homesteader. Jeffrey  and his wife Amy work together at Fusion as Handmade Family, making back to basics toys, gifts and decor for growing families. You can find his work and personal blog at www.handmadefamily.com or around the web as redherringjeff.

4 thoughts on “Getting The Work Done

  1. Carrie Hawkins says:

    Great insights Jeffrey! My list is too long, where do I start? Big ones are changing my biz name, build my new website, explore new objects to paint on, give my dogs a bath….

    • redherringjeff says:

      My website is a constant thorn in my side (just because it takes a bit of upkeep and is never “quite there”, and was actually one of the things I was thinking about when I was talking about “Perfection is the enemy of completion”. If I waited until every part of it was complete and exactly what I wanted, I may never finish it. So I put up part of it, and add and work towards completion/refinement a little at a time. Having some content up seems better than having none. 🙂 Thanks for stopping in!

Leave a Reply

